The True Play Foundation

Screen Shot 2019-08-02 at 2.01.21 PM.png

Our Direction

The True Play Foundation seeks to support the work of educators and communities in every part of the world who are committed to creating practices, programs and policies that protect and support the right of every child—regardless of race, gender, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, class or externally defined ability—to uninterrupted, self-determined True Play.


“Environments of love provide children with the freedom to grow.”

cheng xueqin  |  Founder and chair

Screen Shot 2019-08-02 at 2.48.22 PM.png

True Play Statement

True play is deep and uninterrupted engagement in the activity of one’s own choice.

True Play is most frequently characterized by observable experiences of risk, joy and deep engagement. This is the deepest manifestation of learning, growth and development.

True Play flourishes in places of love where the materials, environments and decision-making attend to the needs and differences of the individual and the group.

When given space to reflect, those who experience True Play and those who take part in deep and engaged observation of True Play will create ecologies that prioritize the understanding of learning and development in their respective communities.

Educators and policy-makers committed to True Play protect the child’s right to experiences of True Play, and make True Play a priority in their decision-making about education.

Anji, China 15 May 2019



True Play Advocacy Alliance

Screen Shot 2019-08-21 at 8.58.53 PM.png


Founding Membership:

Professor Feng Xiaoxia (China)
Professor Li Jimei (China)
Professor Hua Aihua (China)
Ms. Cheng Xueqin (China)
Ms. Sheng Yi (China)
Ms. Zhang Jie (China)
Dr. Doris Pui Wah Cheng (China)

Mr. Jesse Coffino (U.S.)
Ms. Jordy Coldwell Angel (Mexico)
Mr. Salvatory Kisude (Tanzania)
Dr. Peter Mangione (U.S.)
Mr. Gregory Mickells (U.S.)
Ms. Safina Mutumba (Uganda)
Mr. Jean Christophe Ndikumana (Burundi)
Dr. Andreas Roepstorff (Denmark)
Ms. Eszter Salamon (Hungary)
Dr. Rona Jualla van Oudenhoven (Canada)
Dr. Nikolay Veraksa (Russia)